U.S. House Passes $1.2 Trillion Spending Bill, 'Hardline

U.S. House Passes $1.2 Trillion Spending Bill, 'Hardline" Republicans Like Gaetz and Mills Pushback

Can the U.S. continue to spend like this?

Javier Manjarres
Javier Manjarres
March 22, 2024

With a total vote count of  286-134, the U.S of Representatives passed another omnibus spending bill to avert a government shutdown, but “hardline” House Republicans like Reps. Matt Gaetz, Byron Donalds, and Cory Mills, all voted against the measure they referred to the ongoing “defeat and demise” of America.

“Today, I voted emphatically against yet another trillion-dollar spending package. I would rather die on the field politically than continue to surrender to America's defeat and demise. Surrendering is precisely what this omnibus does: it surrenders on the border, on the budget, and on the bureaucrats that are choking out the economic freedom of our citizens.

I will continue to vote against these packages, speak out against them, debate against them, and do everything I can to encourage my colleagues to join me,” Congressman Gaetz said.

Rep. Gaetz’s strong language to describe the $1.2 trillion spending bill was echoed by Rep. Mills, who has vowed to oppose any “reckless and fiscally irresponsible” spending measures coming out of the House of Representatives.

“Proud to have voted “No” on the $1.2T reckless and fiscally irresponsible spending bill. This bill does nothing to address failed policies, secure our border, and continue funding for Biden’s agenda. This is not in the best interests of the American people,” stated Rep. Mills.

Florida’s congressional delegation was split on the vote with every single House Democrat except for Reps. Frederica Wilson, Maxwell Frost, and Lois Frankel have voted in favor of the trillion-dollar bill.

Reps. Wilson and Frankel did not vote. Rep. Frost was the only “No” vote in the Democratic House Caucus.

The Democrats who voted to prevent a government shutdown were Rep. Jared Moskowitz, Kathy Castor, Debbie Wasserman Schultz, Darren Soto, and Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick.

As for House Republicans, just about all of the perceived centrist or “moderate” Republicans voted in favor.

Those who supported the measure were Reps. Mario Diaz-Balart, John Rutherford, Maria Salazar, Neal Dunn, Carlos Gimenez, and Laurel Lee.

The House Republicans that voted with Mills and Gaetz against the bill were Reps. Kat Cammack, Greg Steube, Brian Mast, Anna Paulina Luna, Mike Waltz, Byron Donalds, Gus Bilirakis, Vern Buchanan, Scott Franklin, Daniel Webster, Bill Posey, and Aaron Bean.

Related Posts

Javier Manjarres

Javier Manjarres

Javier Manjarres is a nationally renowned award-winning political journalist and Publisher of Floridianpress.com, Hispolitica.com, shark-tank.com, and Texaspolitics.com He enjoys traveling, playing soccer, mixed martial arts, weight-lifting, swimming, and biking. Javier is also a political consultant and has also authored "BROWN PEOPLE," which is a book about Hispanic Politics. Follow on Twitter: @JavManjarres Email him at Diversenewmedia@gmail.com

Subscribe to the newsletter everyone in Florida is reading.

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.


More Related Posts