Rutherford Votes to Improve the Lives of Veterans

Rutherford Votes to Improve the Lives of Veterans

Daniel Molina
Daniel Molina
June 6, 2024

The House passed the Fiscal Year 2025 Military Construction (MILCON) and Veterans Affairs (VA) Appropriations bill this morning with a 209 to 197 vote. Florida Rep. John Rutherford (R), who voted in favor of the bill, praised it for bolstering the United States' national security and improving the lives of veterans.

After voting in favor of the MILCON and VA Appropriations bill, Rutherford championed the bill for investing "billions into improving the lives of our servicemebers, veterans, and their families." The bill would do so by providing "the Department of Defense with funding to upgrade barracks, build child development centers, fully fund veterans' health care programs, and improve U.S. force posture in the Indo-Pacific."

Rep. Rutherford further explained that the bill would bar taxpayer dollars from being used for abortions, it would protect the Second Amendment rights of Veterans, it would prohibit illegal aliens from making VA medical care claims, and it would prohibit the use of funds being used to promote or advance critical race theory or "President Biden's diversity, equity, and inclusion executive orders."

The Florida Republican also highlighted that the bill will "bolster our national security and honor our commitment to our veterans, but this year's bill also brings over $20 million to Northeast Florida through Community Project Funding, including for the planning and design of a much-needed additional child development center at Naval Air Station Jacksonville and a waterfront emergency power solution at Naval Station Mayport."

"These wins for our local military community strengthen readiness and support our military families."

Florida Reps. Aaron Bean (R), Gus Bilirakis (R), Vern Buchanan (R), Mario Diaz-Balart (R), Byron Donalds (R), Neal Dunn (R), Scott Franklin (R), Matt Gaetz (R), Carlos Gimenez (R), Laurel Lee (R), Anna Paulina Luna (R), Brian Mast (R), Cory Mills (R), Bill Posey (R), Greg Steube (R), Mike Waltz (R), and Daniel Webster (R) all voted in favor of the bill.

Florida Reps. Kat Cammack (R) and Maria Elvira Salazar (R) voted with "Not Voting."



Related Posts

Daniel Molina

Daniel Molina

Daniel Molina is an award-winning senior reporter based in Miami. He holds a bachelorā€™s degree in English Literature from Florida International University. His hobbies include reading, writing, and watching films.

Subscribe to the newsletter everyone in Florida is reading.

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.


More Related Posts