Florida’s 2020 list of qualified congressional candidates (Official)
FeaturedFlorida Politics

Florida’s 2020 list of qualified congressional candidates (Official)


The qualifying period to run for the U.S. Congress in Florida is over. Candidates had between noon on Monday, April 20, 2020, until noon on Friday (today), April 24, 2020, to either qualify by petition or pay the hefty qualifying fee.

All of the congressional districts are in play except for CD 25 where Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart (R) won his election because no one qualified to opposed him. READ MORE

As of 12:01 pm today, Friday the 24th, here are your official congressional candidates. Note–Incumbents are highlighted

Here is the list:

take our poll - story continues below

Will You Be Voting In Person November 3rd?

  • Will You Be Voting In Person November 3rd?  

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Completing this poll grants you access to The Floridian updates free of charge. You may opt out at anytime. You also agree to this site's Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

CD 1

Rep. Matt Gaetz (R)

John Mills (REP)

Greg Merk (REP)

Phil Her (DEM)

Albert Oram (NPA)


CD 2

Rep. Neal Dunn (R)

Kristy Thripp (WRI)


CD 3

Kat Cammack (REP)

Ryan Chamberlin

Todd Chase

Philip Dodds (DEM)

Bill Engelbrecht (REP)

Jose Dallas Milado (REP)

Gavin Rollins (REP)

Judson Sapp (REP)

Ed Silva (WRI)

James St. George (REP)

David Theus (REP)

Amy Pope Wells (REP)

Tom Wells (DEM)


CD 4

Rep. John Rutherford (R)

Erick Aguilar (REP)

Gary Koniz (WRI)

Donna Deegan (DEM)


CD 5

Rep. Al Lawson (D)

Albert Chester (DEM)

Gary Adler (REP)

Roger Wagoner (REP)


CD 6

Rep. Michael Waltz (R)

Alan Grayson (WRI)

John G. “Gerry” Nolan (WRI)

Richard Thripp (DEM)


CD 7

Rep. Stephanie Murphy (D)

Richard Goble (REP)

Leo Valentin (REP)

William R. Garlington (NPA)


CD 8

Rep. Bill Posey (R)

Scott Caine (REP)

Jim Kennedy (DEM)


CD 9 

Rep. Darren Soto (D)

Clay Hill (WRI)

Wiliam P Olson (REP)

Sergio E. Ortiz (REP)

Christopher Wright (REP)

Jose Castillo (REP)


CD 10

Rep. Val Demings (D)

Vennia Francois (REP)

Sufiyah Yasmine (WRI)


CD 11

Rep. Daniel Webster (R)

Dana Marie Cottrell (DEM)


CD 12

Rep. Gus Bilirakis (R)

Kimberly Walker (D)


CD 13

Rep. Charlie Crist (D)

George Buck (REP

Jacob Curnow (WRI)

Sheila Griffin (REP)

Anna Paulina Luna (REP)

Amanda Makki (REP)

Sharon Barry Newby (REP)


CD 14

Rep. Kathy Castor (D)

Paul Sidney Elliott (REP)

Christine Y. Quinn (REP)


CD 15

Rep. Ross Spano (R)

Alan Cohn (DEM)

Scott Franklin (REP)

Adam Hattersley (DEM)

Jesse Philippe (DEM)


CD 16

Rep. Vern Buchanan (R)

Margaret Good (DEM)


CD 17

Rep. Greg Steube (R)

Allen Ellison (DEM)

Theodore Murray (NPA)


CD 18

Rep. Brian Mast (R)

Pam Keith (DEM)

Oz Vazquez (DEM)

Nick Vessio (REP)


CD 19

Cindy Lyn Banyai (DEM)

David Holden (DEM)

Darren Aquino (REP)

Byron Donalds (REP)

Dane Eagle (REP)

William “Fig” Figlesthaler

Randy Henderson (REP)

Daniel Kowal (REP)

Christy McLaughlin (REP)

Patrick Post (WRI)

Casey Askar (REP)

Heather Fitzenhagen (REP)

Dan Severson (REP)

Patrick Post (WRI)


CD 20

Rep. Alcee Hastings (D)

Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick (DEM)

Vic DeGrammont (REP)

Greg Musselwhite (REP)


CD 21

Rep. Lois Frankel (D)

Christian Acosta (REP)

Piotr Blass (WRI)

Sylvia Caravetta (WRI)

Elizabeth Felton (REP)

Laura Loomer (REP)

Charleston Malkemus (NPA)

Aaron Scanlon (REP)

Reba Sherrill (REP)

Michael Vilardi (REP)

Guido Weiss (DEM)


CD 22

 Rep. Ted Deutch (D)

Fran Flynn (REP)

Jessica Melton (REP)

James Pruden (REP)

Darlene Swaffar (REP)


CD 23

Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D)

Demetrius “DB” Fugate (WRI)

Michael Kroske (REP)

Jeff Olson (WRI)

Jennifer Perelman (DEM)

Carla Spalding


CD 24

Rep. Frederica Wilson (D)

Ricardo De La Fuente (DEM)

Howard Knepper (WRI)

Sakinah Le Lehtola (DEM)

Christine Alexandria Olivo (NPA)
Hector Rivera (WRI)

Lavern Spicer (REP)


CD 25

Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart (R) ***Re-elected to Congress


CD 26

Rep. Debbie Mucarsel-Powell (D)

Omar Blanco (REP)

Carlos Gimenez (REP)


CD 27

Rep. Donna Shalala (D)

Maria Elvira Salazar (REP)

Juan Fiol (REP)


Javier Manjarres is a nationally renowned award-winning political journalist. Diverse New Media, Corp. publishes Floridianpress.com, Hispolitica.com, shark-tank.com, and Texaspolitics.com He enjoys traveling, playing soccer, mixed martial arts, weight-lifting, swimming, and biking.Javier is also a political consultant and has also authored "BROWN PEOPLE," which is a book about Hispanic Politics.Learn more at www.brownpeople.orgEmail him at [email protected]