Trump: Senate Democrats Obama, Clinton, and Schumer voted for 2006 border wall
National Politics

Trump: Senate Democrats Obama, Clinton, and Schumer voted for 2006 border wall


During his rally in Las Vegas, NV for incumbent Sen. Dean Heller (R), Trump expressed his disappointment in recent lack of congressional funding for his border security wall.

Trump brought up the fact that Democrats, who are stonewalling the immigration reform because they oppose building a border wall, voted in favor of the Secure Fence Act of 2006.

The 2006 law passed overwhelmingly in both chambers of the U.S. Congress before being signed by President George W. Bush.

The House

The bill passed the House by a vote total of 283-138 with 64 Democrats voting in favor of it, including former Florida Representatives Corrine Brown and Robert Wexler.

The Senate

The bill passed in the Senate by a vote total of 80-19 with the support of some prominent Democrats that current oppose Trump’s wall.

The Democrats who voted for the 2006 fence or wall were Senators Hillary Clinton, Chuck Schumer, Barbara Boxer, Dianne Feinstein, and President Barack Obama and Vice President Joe Biden.

Florida Senator Bill Nelson, who locked in heated race with Governor Rick Scott, also voted “Yea” on the fence and said he would vote to help fund Trump’s wall.

Nelson’s support of the wall would only come ‘if’ family “reunification” and the DACA issues are addressed.


Javier Manjarres is a nationally renowned award-winning political journalist. Diverse New Media, Corp. publishes,,, and He enjoys traveling, playing soccer, mixed martial arts, weight-lifting, swimming, and biking.Javier is also a political consultant and has also authored "BROWN PEOPLE," which is a book about Hispanic Politics.Learn more at www.brownpeople.orgEmail him at [email protected]