FASD announces 2019-2020 Board of Directors

FASD announces 2019-2020 Board of Directors


TALLAHASSEE, Fla. — In June at the Florida Association of Special Districts’ (FASD) annual conference, the organization reached the conclusion of its yearly board election process, resulting in 13 returning board members and four new members.

Over the course of the year, this newly elected leadership group aims to help spread awareness among the 1,700-plus special districts in Florida about the benefits of FASD’s professional education and training in public service, among other goals.

Newly elected board members represent the following districts: St. Lucy County Fire District, Destin Fire District, South Indian River Water Control District, and Lee County Mosquito Control District. Also, Wellington local and Director of Administrative & Financial Services for Wellington and the ACME Improvement District Tanya Quickel began her second year as president of the organization.

Trending: Mucarsel-Powell questions Trump’s hurricane preparedness

“I’m honored to serve another year in this esteemed position with the remarkable peers who have been elected alongside me,” said Quickel. “The coming year brings new opportunities for the betterment of special districts and how we serve the folks who reside within them, and I look forward to leading this board forward.”

take our poll - story continues below

Which Democrat will drop out of the race next?

  • Which Democrat will drop out of the race next?  

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Completing this poll grants you access to Floridian Press updates free of charge. You may opt out at anytime. You also agree to this site's Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

New members of the board include:

● Mike Dillon, South Indian River Water Control District

● David Hoel, Lee County Mosquito Control District

● Kevin Sasser, Destin Fire District

● Nate Spera, St. Lucie County Fire District

In addition to Quickel, other returning leaders and members include:

● Jim Millican, Lealman Fire and Rescue District

● Kevin Hart, South Broward Drainage District

● Dan Beatty, North Palm Beach County Improvement District

● Joe DeCerbo, Spring Lake Improvement District

● David Davis, South Florida Conservancy Drainage District

● Pat O’Quinn, Old Plantation Water Control District

● Dave Cambareri, San Carlos Fire District

● Dawn Mullins, Ranger Drainage District

● Todd Wodraska, Special District Services

● Jim King, Database Financial Services

● Brian Cottrell, Public Risk Insurance Agency

● Mary Hickey, Sanibel Fire & Rescue

Founded in 1979, FASD offers support to the leaders of Florida’s special districts by means of advocating for positive actions, providing training and certification programs for district officials and managers, supplying networking opportunities and idea sharing among the districts, and affording access to the latest information and laws that affect special districts every day.


Rep. Michael Waltz/ The Floridian
Email FeaturedFeaturedFlorida PoliticsNational Politics
Waltz & Murphy Want to Inform Public of Elections Hacking
"Our elections system is perhaps the most critical of all infrastructure to our democracy."
Screen Shot 2019-12-04 at 6.18.56 AM
FeaturedFlorida Politics
Fitzenhagen’s support for Planned Parenthood could hurt her congressional chances
Fitzhagen, who has made her mark championing veterans issues and business [...]
President Donald J. Trump delivers remarks on supporting veterans and their families Thursday, Nov. 15, 2018, in the South Court Auditorium in the Eisenhower Executive Office Building of the White House. (Official White House Photo by Shealah Craighead)
Email FeatureFeaturedFlorida Politics
President Trump Comments on Border Concern